He is a Nokia Fellow and currently the Head of the Radio Interface Group, Nokia Bell Labs. He joined Motorola in 1990. Since joining Motorola, he worked on multiple wireless technologies starting from IS-95, cdma-2000, 1xEV-DV/1XTREME, 1xEV-DO, UMTS, HSPA, 802.16e/WiMAX, and 3GPP LTE. He has written multiple book chapters and has authored numerous external and internal technical papers. He has co-authored the book Essentials of LTE and LTE-A. He holds 60 issued patents. His research interests are in the area of digital communications, signal processing, and wireless communications. He is currently working on 3GPP LTE-Advanced and 5G technologies. He was a member of the IEEE Access Editorial Board. He was a recipient of the 2016 IEEE Stephen O. Rice and the 2017 Neal Shephard Prize.