He is a Fellow of IEEE (2013), and has served as Editor for Multiuser Communications for the IEEE Transactions on Communications and as Associate Editor for Detection and Estimation for the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory. He received the Eurasip Journal of Wireless Communications and Networks (JWCN) best paper award in 2006. He was general co-chair of ISITA 2012 and IEEE ISIT 2014.