• USA-2008

    For her devoted efforts as Chair of the 2003, and Steering Committee Chair of the 2007, Federated Computing Research Conference, as well as for her exceptional work on behalf of SIGPLAN's History of Programming Languages conferences, including serving as Program Chair of 2007's HOPL-III. Dr. Ryder served from 1989 to 1999 on SIGPLAN's Executive Committee, and served as Chair from 1995-97, and as a Member at Large of the ACM Council from 2000 -2008. Dr. Ryder has been a source of inspiration to women in the computing field, dedicating her services in their support, among them, serving on the Athena Lecturer Award Committee. Her contributions as Member-at-Large on ACM's Council have provided valuable insights.

  • USA-1998

    For seminal contributions to the theoretical foundations and empirical investigation of interprocedural compile-time analyses, especially for languages with general-purpose pointers.

Dr. Barbara G. Ryder is Head of the Department of Computer Science at Virginia Tech, where she holds the J. Byron Maupin Professorship in Engineering. She received her A.B. degree in Applied Mathematics from Brown University (1969), her Masters degree in Computer Science from Stanford University (1971) and her Ph.D degree in Computer Science at Rutgers University (1982). Dr. Ryder served on the faculty of Rutgers from 1982-2008. She also worked in the 1970s at AT&T Bell Laboratories in Murray Hill, NJ. Dr. Ryder's research interests on static and dynamic program analyses for object-oriented systems, focus on usage in practical software tools for ensuring the quality and security of industrial-strength applications. Dr. Ryder became a Fellow of the ACM in 1998, received the ACM SIGSOFT Influential Educator Award (2015) and the ACM President's Award (2008), was selected as a CRA-W Distinguished Professor (2004), and received the ACM SIGPLAN Distinguished Service Award (2001). She has been an active leader in ACM (e.g., Vice President 2010-2012, Secretary-Treasurer 2008-2010; ACM Council 2000-2008; General Chair, FCRC 2003; Chair ACM SIGPLAN (1995-97)). She serves as a Member of the Board of Directors of the Computer Research Association (2014-present,1998-2001). Dr. Ryder is an editorial board member of ACM Transactions on Software Engineering Methodology and Software, Practice and Experience, and has served as an editorial board member of ACM Transactions on Programming Languages and Systems, IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering, and Science of Computer Programming. Dr. Ryder is a founding member of the NCWIT VA/DC Aspirations in Computing Awards, having co-chaired these awards in 2012-13 and 2014-15. She also was an executive champion for CS@VT in the NCWIT Pacesetters (2009-2015).