He is William L. Everitt Distinguished Professor in the U of I Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Coordinated Science Lab (CSL); and a full-time faculty member in the Beckman Institute Image Formation and Processing and Artificial Intelligence groups. His professional interests are computer vision, image compression and enhancement, pattern recognition, and multimodal signal processing.

Swanlund Chair, University of Illinois (2012), “Most Cited Paper of the Decade Award” from the Journal of Visual Communication and Image Representation, (2010), Member, National Academy of Engineering Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Engineering Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Sciences; IEEE Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal (2000) (co-recipient with A. Netravali); Int. Asso. of Pattern Recognition, King-Sun Fu Prize (2002); Honda Lifetime Achievement Award (2000); Professor, Center for Advanced Study, UIUC; IEEE Third Millennium Medal (2000); Honda Lifetime Achievement Award (2000); Keynote Speaker, International Workshop on Gesture, March 17-19, Paris, France (1999); Keynote Speaker, International Conference on Audio and Visual-based Biometric Person Identification, March 22-24, Washington, DC (1999); Keynote Speaker, IEEE International Neuronets for Signal Processing Workshop, August 23-25, Madison, WI (1999); Keynote Speaker, International Conference on Image Analysis and Processing (CAIP), Sept. 1-3, Ljubljana, Slovenia (1999).