He joined University of Texas at Dallas (UTDallas), Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science in the fall of 2005, where he is presently serving as Jonsson School Associate Dean for Research, as well as Professor of Electrical Engineering and also holds the Distinguished University Chair in Telecommunications Engineering. He previously served as Department Head of Electrical Engineering from Aug. 2005 – Dec. 2012, overseeing a +4x increase in research expenditures ($4.5M to $22.3M) with a 20% increase in enrollment along with hiring 18 new T/TT faculty, growing University of Texas at Dallas (UTDallas) to be the 8th largest EE program from ASEE rankings in terms of degrees awarded. He also holds a joint appointment as Professor in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences (Speech & Hearing), as well as the University Distinguished Endowed Chair in Telecommunications Engineering. At UTDallas, he established the Center for Robust Speech Systems (CRSS), which is focused on interdisciplinary research in speech processing, hearing sciences, and language technologies. From 1999 until 2005, he was with the University of Colorado at Boulder where he served as Department Chairman and Professor in the Department of Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences (Univ. of Colorado-Boulder). While at CU-Boulder, he held a joint appointment as Professor in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering. In 1988, he established the Robust Speech Processing Laboratory (RSPL) at Duke Univ., and served as Coordinator for the Robust Speech Processing Group at CSLR.. He was co-founder of the Center for Speech and Language Research (CSLR), where he served as Associate Director from 1999-2003.