• USA-1996

    For contributions to compiler technology and to the design, implementation, and analysis of algorithms.

An American computer scientist known for his contributions to algorithms and compiler optimization, he is currently Head of Computer Science, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Hawthorne, N.Y., with worldwide responsibilities in IBM’s eight research laboratories. He received his B.A. degree from New York University and his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley. He joined IBM Research in 1975 and in 2007 he was named an IBM Fellow, the highest honor a scientist, engineer, or programmer at IBM can achieve. He is a member of the IBM Academy of Technology and a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (1996) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He was also elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2010. He is recognized for his significant contributions to computer algorithms and compiler optimization and information theory including universal hashing and the LZMW data compression algorithm, that have deeply influenced many areas of computer science and practice. He is best known for being one of the inventors of the Static single assignment form, which is used in the analysis portion of most if not all modern optimizing compilers. This work was recognized by Special Interest Group on Programming Languages (SIGPLAN) in 2006 with its Programming Languages Achievement Award. In addition to the previously named honors, he has received numerous awards, just a few of which are: The 1992 IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Award: Static Single Assignment; in 1996 the IBM Corporate Patent Award; the 2007 IBM Research Division Award - Jinsight; and the 2008 IBM Ninth Patent Plateau. He is the author of over 30 publications in the field of Computer Science.