His research interests include causally-regularized machine learning, network representation learning, and social dynamics modeling. He has published more than 100 papers in prestigious conferences and journals in data mining and multimedia. His recent research won the IEEE Multimedia Best Department Paper Award, SIGKDD 2016 Best Paper Finalist, ICDM 2015 Best Student Paper Award, SIGKDD 2014 Best Paper Finalist, IEEE ICME 2014 Best Paper Award, ACM MM12 Grand Challenge Multimodal Award, and MMM13 Best Paper Award. He is PC co-chair of CIKM2019 and MMM2020, SPC or area chair of WWW, ACM Multimedia, IJCAI, AAAI, etc., and Associate Editors of IEEE TKDE, IEEE TBD, ACM TIST, and ACM TOMM etc. He received ACM China Rising Star Award in 2015, and CCF-IEEE CS Young Scientist Award in 2018. He is now a Distinguished Member of ACM amd CCF, and a Senior Member of IEEE.