R. WAYNE JOHNSON (S”77, M”79, S”80, M”82, S”85, M”87, SM”94, F”04) is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Auburn University and Director of the Laboratory for Electronics Assembly & Packaging (LEAP). During his 24 years at Auburn, he has established teaching and research laboratories for advanced packaging and electronics assembly. Research efforts are focused on materials, processing, and reliability for electronics assembly and for extreme environment electronics. Current research projects span the temperature range for -180oC to +500oC. He is a CPMT Distinguished Lecturer on Extreme Environment Electronics. He has published and presented numerous papers at workshops and conferences and in technical journals. He was a co-author of the 2010 ECTC Best Paper of Conference and co-faculty advisor for the 2009 ECTC Intel Best Student Paper winner. He has also co-edited one IEEE book on MCM technology and written book chapters in the areas of silicon MCM technology, MCM assembly, automotive MCMs (IEEE Press), flip chip assembly and high temperature packaging (IEEE Press). Wayne was elected a Fellow of IEEE in 2004 for “his contributions to electronics that must operate in harsh environments.”

Dr. Johnson received the B.E. and M.Sc. degrees in 1979 and 1982 from Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, and the Ph.D. degree in 1987 from Auburn University, Auburn, AL, all in electrical engineering.