Xiaobo Sharon Hu is a professor in the department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana, USA. She also holds a joint appointment in the department of Electrical Engineering at the same university. She received B.S. degree from Tianjin University, China; M.S. degree from Polytechnic University of New York; and Ph.D. degree from Purdue University. She worked for General Motors Research Labs for almost 4 years before she started her academic career. Between 1993 and 1996, she was an assitant professor in the department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA.

Her research interests include low-power system design; circuit and architecture design with emerging technologies; real-time embedded systems; hardware and software codeisgn; and computational medicine. She has published close to 300 referred papers in these areas and received numerous research grants from both the U.S. government agencies and private industry. She has also participated in several large industry and government sponsored center-level projects. She received the CAREER award from U.S. National Science Foundation in 1997. She received the Best Paper Award from the ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference (DAC) in 2001; from the IEEE Symposium on Nanoscale Architectures (NanoArch) in 2009; and from the ACM/IEEE International Symposium on Low Power Electronics and Design (ISLPED) in 2018. Another paper of hers was named one of "The Most Influential Papers of 10 Years Design, Automation, and Test in Europe Conference (DATE)".

Sharon Hu was the General Chair of DAC in 2018 and the TPC co-chair of DAC in 2015 and 2016. She also served as Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on VLSI, ACM Transactions on Design Automation of Electronic Systems, ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing; and is an Associate Editor of ACM Transactions on Cyber-Physical Systems and on the editorial board of IEEE Design and Test Magazine. She served as guest editors for several different journals/magazines such as the IEEE Computer Magazine. She was the Technical Program Co-Chair of the 9th International Symposium on Hardware/Software Codesign (CODES'2001) and the General Co-Chair of the same conference in 2002. She also served on the program committee of a number of conferences such as DAC, DATE, International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD), IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS), and IEEE Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications Symposium (RTAS), etc. Sharon Hu is a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Council of Electronic Design Automation, and a Fellow of the IEEE.

Sharon Hu is the Chair of the Executive Committee of ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA), and a memberof the Executive Committee of IEEE Technical Committee on Real-Time Systems (TCRTS). She also served as Vice Chair of the Executive Committee of ACM SIGDA; and Secretary/Treasurer of the Executive Committee of ACM Special Interest Group on Embedded Systems (SIGBED).

At the University of Notre Dame, Sharon Hu had been the Director of Graduate Studies for 10 years in the department of Computer Science and Engineering. She was Senior Assistant Provost for ND International between 2012-2013, and the Associate Dean for Professional Development at the Graduate School between 2013-2015.