Tobin Jay Marks (born November 25, 1944) is the Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of Catalytic Chemistry and Professor of Material Science and Engineering, Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University. Among the themes of his research are synthetic organo-f-element and early-transition metal organometallic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials chemistry, homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis, molecule-based photonic materials, superconductivity, metal-organic chemical vapor deposition, and biological aspects of transition metal chemistry. Marks received his B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Maryland in 1966 and his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1971. He came to Northwestern University in the fall of 1970. As of April 2009, Tobin Marks has mentored over 100 PhD students and nearly 100 postdoctoral fellows. More than 90 of these alumni hold academic positions worldwide. Tobin Marks has published over 950 research articles and holds 191 patents. His h-index is 114.2015 Luigi Sacconi Medal, Italian Chemical Society 2014 Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson Medal, Royal Society of Chemistry; 2013 Alan G. MacDiarmid Medal, University of Pennsylvania; 2012 Theodore W. Richards Medal, American Chemical Society; 2012 U.S. National Academy of Sciences Award in the Chemical Sciences; 2012 Member, U.S. National Academy of Engineering; 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award and Election, Circle of Discovery, University of Maryland; 2012 American Chemical Society Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis; 2011 Schulich Prize, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology; 2011 American Chemical Society Arthur Cope Senior Scholar Award in Organic Chemistry; 2011 Member, Indian National Academy of Sciences; 2011 Dreyfus Prize in the Chemical Sciences 2010 William H. Nichols Medal, American Chemical Society; 2010 Wilhelm Manchot Prize, Technical University of Munich; 2010 Mosher Award, American Chemical Society; 2009 Fellow, Materials Research Society; 2009 Materials Research Society von Hippel Award; 2008 American Chemical Society Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry; 2008 Principe de Asturias Prize for Technical and Scientific Research (Spain); 2005 Induction into University of Maryland Hall of Fame 2005 Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry UK; 2005 John Bailar Medal, University of Illinois; 2005 Member, Leopoldina German National Academy of Natural Sciences; 2005 US National Medal of Science; 2004 Sir Edward Frankland Medal, UK Royal Society of Chemistry; 2003 Karl Ziegler Prize, Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker; 2002 American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal; 2001 American Chemical Society Award in the Chemistry of Materials; 2001 Willard Gibbs Medal, American Chemical Society, 2001 Linus Pauling Medal, American Chemical Society; 2000 Cotton Medal, American Chemical Society; 1997 Centenary Medal, UK Royal Society of Chemistry; 1994 American Chemical Society Award in Inorganic Chemistry; 1993 Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences; 1993 Member, U.S. National Academy of Sciences; 1989 American Chemical Society Award in Organometallic Chemistry; 1989-1990 Guggenheim Fellow; 1984 American Chemical Society Arthur K. Doolittle Award in Polymeric Materials Science and Engineering;