• Greece-2004

    For contributions to database systems, particularly query optimization.

Yannis Ioannidis is the President and General Director of the ATHENA Research and Innovation Center as well as a Professor at the Department of Informatics and Telecommunications of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. He is also serving a 2-year term (2018-2020) as the Secretary/Treasurer of ACM.

He received his Diploma in Electrical Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens in 1982, his MSc in Applied Mathematics from Harvard University in 1983, and his Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the University of California-Berkeley in 1986. Immediately after that he joined the faculty of the Computer Sciences Department of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where he became a Professor before finally leaving in 1999. His research interests include Database and Information Systems, Data and Text Analytics, Recommender Systems and Personalization, Data Science, Data Infrastructures and Digital Repositories, and Computer-Human Interaction, topics on which he has published over one hundred and fifty articles in leading journals and conferences and also holds three patents. His work is often motivated by data management problems that arise in diverse industrial environments or in the context of other scientific fields (Life Sciences, Cultural Heritage, Biodiversity, Physical Sciences).

Yannis is an ACM and IEEE Fellow (2004 and 2010, respectively) and a member Academia Europaea. He is also a recipient of the 2017 ACM SIGMOD Contributions Award, the VLDB "10-Year Best Paper Award" (2003), the NSF "Presidential Young Investigator Award" - PYI (1991), and of several awards for teaching excellence, including the nation-wide "Xanthopoulos-Pneumatikos Award for Outstanding Academic Teaching" in Greece (2006) and the "Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching" at the University of Wisconsin (1996). He has also been a keynote or invited speaker in several conferences (NLDB'08, ICDE'07, ADBIS'06, CIKM'05, ICDT'03, WAIM'01, SSDBM'00, PDP'00, ECDL'98).