B habani P. Sinha joined the faculty of Electronics Unit of the Indian Statistical Institute, Calcutta in 1976, where he became a Professor in 1987. He served as the Head of the Advanced Computing and Microelectronics Unit during 1993-2010. He was the Dean of Studies of ISI during 2010-12. He was an Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) Chair Professor in IIT Kharagpur during 2000. He was an Alexander von Humboldt fellow of Germany. He received many awards and honours in recognition of his excellent academic performance and outstanding research contributions, the most notable of which include: i) M.K. Singal Memorial award from the Indian Science Congress Association in 2012 (handed over by the Hon’ble Prime Minister), for his significant and lifetime contributions to the development of science and technology, ii) Homi Bhaba award of the University Grants Commission, India (1998) for his outstanding contributions to applied sciences, iii) Ram Lal Wadha Medal from the Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers, India for outstanding original contribution in the field of electronics and telecommunication engineering during the last ten years (2012), iv) Faculty Excellence award of Clemson University, USA (2002), and v) Eminent Engineer award from the Institute of Engineers, India (2008). Prof. Sinha is a Fellow of the IEEE, USA and also a fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Sciences, India, Institution of Electronics and Telecommunications Engineering and West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology. His research interests include computer architecture, algorithms, parallel and distributed computing, mobile communication and wireless networks.